Mon, Sep

Eleven provinces get new governors: Source


elevan-governorPresident Ashraf Ghani has appointed new governors , including a woman, for 11 provinces, an official said on Tuesday.

The appointments come about eight months after the unity government was inaugurated in late September.

Nearly 30 provinces are being administered by acting governors amid increasing complaints from people about growing insecurity and lack of governance.

Speaking on the condition of anonymity, a source in the unity government told Pajhwok Afghan News that Salim Khan Kunduzi had been appointed as the governor of eastern Nangarhar province.

He said Nasrat Arsala had been appointed as Paktika governor, Wahidullah Kalimzai as the governor of eastern Kunar province.

Mohammad Halim Fidaee has been appointed as the governor of central Logar province, Dr. Tahir Zaheer the governor of central Bamyan province, Aminullah Shariq the governor of Paktika, Eng. Moh

ammad Mirza Rahimi the governor of Helmand, Mohammad Samiullah the governor of Nimroz, Anwar Ishaqzai the governor of southern Zabul province, Shamim Katawazai as the governor of southeastern Khost province. However, the appointment of Ms. Muradi as the governor of central Daikundi province.

Before his appointment as the governor of Nangarhar, Salim Khan Kunduzi was the acting Agriculture and Livestock Minister. He is a resident of northern Kunduz province.

The new governor for Kunar, Wahidullah Kalimzai, is a resident of central Maidan Wardak province. He is a businessman and owns many business firms. His brother Obaidullah Kalimzai is a member of the Wolesi Jirga and another brother Hasibullah Kalimzai is a member of the Meshrano Jirga.

A former governor of Maidan Wardak, Mohammad Halim Fidaee is a resident of southeastern Paktika province.

The new governor for Paktika, Nasratullah Arsala is a resident of Nangarhar’s Sara Rud district. He

is the son of Haji Din Mohammad, a former Nangarhar provincial council chief and member.

Dr. Tahir Zaheer, the governor for Bamyan province, is a resident of Samangan province. He was a member of the Wolesi Jirga but was disqualified in light of a Supreme Court verdict.

The governor for Zabul, Noorul Haq Ishaqzai, is a resident of Badghis province.

Shamim Katawazai, a resident of Paktika province, is the brother of Nadir Khan Katawazai, a member of the Wolesi Jirga.

No information is available about Khanam Muradi, the governor for central Daikundi province.